Thirteen satellites make up the Inmarsat constellation, which orbits the planet in a geosynchronous (GEO) orbit at about 22,000 miles. The satellites are set up to send out radio beams in two different worldwide configurations that span the oceans and main landmasses. Inmarsat does not cover the polar regions because its range of coverage only extends to latitudes of -82° to 82°, regardless of longitude.